Part 2: Natural pond

10 weeks after my girlfriend comes home to find the kids and I digging a hole in the front garden we are now finally enjoying the calm space of a water garden. It’s a pleasure for the whole family. Never knew fish could be so interesting….Honestly!!

After the initial pond layout idea it didn’t take long for the pond to take shape. A rainy start to the summer didn’t help. I gave up with wheel barrowing earth from the hole during bad weather, as I wasn’t up for reseeding my lawn. After finally removing the 8m2 of earth and stones down the garden path the fun began. A little bit of Internet research got me on the right direction regarding the pond size, shelf depth requirements for different aquatic and marginal plants, maximum depth for it not to freeze in winter, pond pumps and external filters, pond underlay felts and finally pond liners and I was away.

Leveling up of the pond edge took time due to 3 existing points it had to match up with as well as routing the hidden external power supply for the UV filter and pond pump feeding the external barrel filter I hid under the existing wooden terrace.

I used all the sand stone I had left over from the garden plan and went to the local stone yard for the large stones and down to the riverbank for the washed pebbles I used for the stone beach shelf area I created.

In the first week of filing the pond I did wonder if we would have mosquito problems as the pond became a breeding ground for larvae. I waited a week after adding the plants before the fish arrived. It took the fish a week before they became friendly and eat anything that moved. They have done a great job keeping the pond clear.

Since firstly adding the plants to the pond I have since re potted, soiled, feed and wrapped them in coco-matting and placed them in larger pond baskets as the fish started to nibble away at the roots. Now I think we have found the balance between keeping pond plants and fish.

pond_life_nick chapple

I spanned a 5m, 16cm x 16cm Douglas fir beam on 2 concrete plinths either side of the pond so achieving a bridge effect view to the front of the house and used a standard Douglas fir deck walkway. Kept the decking gaps wide to keep airflow movement and yes you can feel cool air flowing up from the pond to the houses low-level windows.

It’s the best natural detail ever and it sounds stunning. It’s transformed the house.

natural pond
Leave a Reply

